7 Chakras in Human Body and Their Significance

Chakras are energy centers in the human body that are believed to play a vital role in physical, emotional, and spiritual well-being. There are seven main chakras in human body that run along the spine, each associated with a specific color, element, and aspect of life. Understanding the chakras and how they function can help you achieve balance and harmony in your body and mind.

Chakras in human body

What are Chakras?

The word "chakra" is derived from the Sanskrit word “Cakra” which means a wheel and it is the main energy center of the body. These chakras are considered as a natural medicine which heals your mental, physical emotional health and spiritual well-being.

Each chakra can have different states, ranging from balanced and open to blocked or excessive. A balanced chakra is associated with a harmonious flow of energy, while imbalances can manifest as physical, emotional, or spiritual issues. Practices like meditation, yoga, and energy healing can help balance and activate the chakras.

Chakras in our body plays a significant role. Some believe there are 114 different types of chakras in the human body. However, there are 7 main chakras, each associated with a different area of the body, alongside the spine that starts at the root of the spine and extends to the crown of the head and are associated with different colors, elements, and functions. These are the 7 chakras:

  1. Muladhara Chakra (Root Chakra)
  2. Svadhishthana Chakra (Sacral Chakra)
  3. Manipura Chakra (Solar Plexus Chakra)
  4. Anahata Chakra (Heart Chakra)
  5. Vishuddha Chakra (Throat Chakra)
  6. Ajna Chakra (Third Eye Chakra)
  7. Sahastrara Chakra (Crown Chakra)

The Main 7 Chakras in Our Body

  1. Muladhara Chakra (Root Chakra)
Root Chakra

This is also known as Muladhara chakra, which represents the foundation for life. This is located at the base of the spine & helps individuals to feel grounded, secure, and face challenges with confidence. When this chakra is blocked it makes one feel insecure and threatened.

  • The Root Chakra’s colour is Red which symbolizes strength.
  • Element: Earth
  • Its symbol is a four-petaled lotus flower, which is a common symbol for enlightenment.
  1. Svadhishthana Chakra (Sacral Chakra)
Sacral Chakra

This is also known as Svadhisthana chakra and is located just below the belly button. It helps you in understanding how you connect to your emotions and the emotions of others. Majorly, this chakra is responsible for the sexual and creative energy in your body.

  • The Sacral Chakra’s colour is Orange that symbolizes purity & increasing consciousness.
  • Element: Water
  1. Manipura Chakra (Solar Plexus Chakra)
Solar Plexus Chakra

This is also known as Manipura Chakra & is located in the stomach area. It helps you feel in control of your life and have self-confidence & self-esteem in you.  In short, this chakra is related to your powers.

  • The solar plexus chakra's colour is Yellow that symbolizes energy, new beginnings, and connection of a person with the sun & fire.
  • Element: Fire
  1. Anahata Chakra (Heart Chakra)
Heart Chakra

This is also known as Anahata Chakra & is located in the center of chest, as this bridges the gap between lower and upper chakra. This chakra represents the ability to receive and give love to self and others & is associated with joy, compassion, & empathy.

  • The Heart Chakra's colour is Green that symbolizes love, change, transformation, & earth.
  • Element: Air
  1. Vishuddha Chakra (Throat Chakra)
Throat Chakra

This is also known as Vishuddha Chakra and is located in the throat. This chakra gives voice to the heart chakra & allows you to express yourself clearly & truly.

  • The colour of this chakra is Blue that symbolizes calm, communication, empathy, and honesty.
  • Element: Sound
  1. Ajna Chakra (Third Eye Chakra)
Third Eye Chakra

This is located on the forehead between the eyes, and it is also known as Ajna Chakra. This is associated with awareness, intuition, and spiritual communication.

  • The Third Eye chakra's colour is purple that symbolizes wisdom.
  • Element: Light
  1. Sahastrara Chakra (Crown Chakra)

Crown Chakra

This is also known as Sahasrara and is located at the very top of the head.  It represents the spiritual connection with self, with others, and with the universe. This chakra plays an important role in life's purpose.

  • The Crown Chakra's colour is white/violet that symbolizes spirituality and inspiration.
  • Element: Conscience

Our Nutritional Products:

Hemp Hearts
Hemp protein powder
hemp seed oil
Hemp Hearts Hemp Seed Powder Hemp Seed Oil

Final Thoughts

These 7 chakras play a very crucial role in various parts of your life. When these chakras are balanced it enhances self-awareness, self-love, and self-confidence fills you with energy and empathy. While reading this, you might resonate with some chakras today and might resonate with others at another point in your life. The balanced chakras lead to a balanced health in its holistic form. Every chakra has its own ways and manners to project itself and any overpowering aspect can lead to an imbalance. Ayurveda suggests several ways that compliment the same. They can be healed with a combination of natural medicines, plant-based medicines, food and other lifestyle practices.


  • Rahul Jangid

    I got it

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published