7 Chakras in Human Body And Their Significance

7 Chakras of Human Body

The word "chakra" is derived from the Sanskrit word “Cakra” which means a wheel and it is the main energy centre of the body. These chakras are considered as a natural medicine which heals your mental, physical, and emotional health.

Each Chakra plays a significant role in your body. Some believe there are 114 different types of chakras in the human body. However, 7 main chakras run alongside the spine that starts at the root of the spine and extends to the crown of the head.

The Main 7 Chakras in Human Body

  1. Crown Chakra

Crown Chakra

This is also known as Sahasrara and is located at the very top of the head.  It represents the spiritual connection with self, with others, and with the universe. This chakra plays an important role in life's purpose.

  • The colour of this chakra is white/violet that symbolizes spirituality and inspiration.
  1. Third Eye Chakra
Third Eye Chakra

This is located on the forehead between the eyes, and it is also known as Ajna Chakra. This is associated with awareness, intuition, and spiritual communication.

  • The third eye chakra colour is purple that symbolizes wisdom.
  1. Throat Chakra
Throat Chakra

This is also known as Vishuddha Chakra and is located in the throat. This chakra gives voice to the heart chakra & allows you to express yourself clearly & truly.

  • The colour of this chakra is Blue that symbolizes calm, communication, empathy, and honesty.
  1. Heart Chakra
Heart Chakra

This is also known as Anahata Chakra & is located in the middle, as this bridges the gap between lower and upper chakra. This chakra represents the ability to receive and give love to self and others & is associated with joy, compassion, & empathy.

  • The colour of this chakra is Green that symbolizes love, change, transformation, & earth.
  1. Solar Plexus Chakra
Solar Plexus Chakra

This is also known as Manipura Chakra & is located in the stomach area. It helps you feel in control of your life and have self-confidence & self-esteem in you.  In short, this chakra is related to your powers.

  • The solar plexus chakra colour is Yellow that symbolizes energy, new beginnings, and connection of a person with the sun & fire.
  1. Sacral Chakra
Sacral Chakra

This is also known as Svadhisthana chakra and is located just below the belly button. It helps you in understanding how you connect to your emotions and the emotions of others. Majorly, this chakra is responsible for the sexual and creative energy in your body.

  • The Sacral Chakra’s colour is Orange that symbolizes purity & increasing consciousness.
  1. Root Chakra
Root Chakra

This is also known as Muladhara chakra, which represents the foundation for life. This is located at the base of the spine & helps individuals to feel grounded, secure, and face challenges with confidence. When this chakra is blocked it makes one feel insecure and threatened.

  • The Root Chakra’s colour is Red which symbolizes strength.
  • Its symbol is a four-petaled lotus flower, which is a common symbol for enlightenment.

Final Thoughts

These 7 chakras play a very crucial role in various parts of your life. When these chakras are balanced it enhances self-awareness, self-love, and self-confidence fills you with energy and empathy. While reading this, you might resonate with some chakras today and might resonate with others at another point in your life. The balanced chakras lead to a balanced health in its holistic form. Every chakra has its own ways and manners to project itself and any overpowering aspect can lead to an imbalance. Ayurveda suggests several ways that compliment the same. They can be healed with a combination of natural medicines, plant based medicines, food and other lifestyle practices.

1 comment

  • Rahul Jangid

    I got it

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published